ivey hopes…

I spent the last couple days grieving high expectations. Of the good dreams that were the desires of my heart, the okay things that I made vitally important, the people I hoped would love me well, the situations that I thought would turn out my way… I let my heart measure itself by successes and be weighed down by failures.

It left me worn out and disappointed. Exhausted and weary.

And then, quietly, I heard Him whisper. That I needed to breathe Yaweah in.  That Spirit that is freely given, restores my soul. To stop knowing all my hurt and my pain and my pride and let Him remind me Who He is. Who I am in Him.

I feel like this happens a bijillion times a week. But every time, I’m amazed by how new it feels. New life. A fresh perspective. New hope.

“My words come from my upright heart,

and my lips speak with sincerity what they know.

The Spirit of God has made me,

and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.”

Job 33:3-5

This entry was published on May 22, 2012 at 10:12 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

