ivey hopes…

It took me a minute to unwrap the question, but I think I’m truly, madly, deeply in love with my Frye boots. Not just because they’re the perfect kind of leather that gets better with age and mud and dust and hours of sunshine, but because they symbolize a dream. One day, I’m going to be a winemaker; spending my days in third world countries, teaching people how to grow grapes and make wine. I’m going to learn from them how to live a life full of hope and meaning. When the sun’s gone for the day and the work is done, I’ll write my mom, my grandparents, my best friends, and thank them for believing in me: sharing what I learned in the fields that day, how one little dream to bring an industry somewhere provided a job for a hungry little girl’s parents, allowed a hospital to be built so a life could be saved, gave a home clean water. I’ll take off my Frye’s, the same one’s I’m wearing at this very moment, and smile. They are so much more than beautiful leather and a wood sole, and I’m truly, madly, deeply in love with them.

– my response to a recent writing assignment… made me remember why I’m here in the first place. He’s got a dream for this heart. 

image copyright of Grover Style Photography

This entry was published on November 15, 2011 at 10:01 am and is filed under photo. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

