ivey hopes…

If then there is any encouragement in Christ, if any consolation of love, if any fellowship with the Spirit, if any affection and mercy, fulfill my joy by thinking the same way, having the same Love, sharing the same feelings, focusing on one goal. Do nothing out of rivalry or conceit, but in humility consider others as more important than yourselves. Everyone should look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.  Philippians 2:1-4

Encouragement in Christ fulfills my joy, causes me to focus on one goal, enables me to act in humility, all because I’m humbling myself and exalting Him.

But as He’s pointed out to me over and over and over the past couple of days, weeks, months, it’s not in my power to humble myself.

It takes Him reminding me who He is, how He sees me, and who He wants to make me, for me to realize who I am not.

“Turn your gaze upon Jesus, and the things of this world will grow strangely dim…”

Humble {Verb} : To make lowly in mind; to abase the pride of; to reduce arrogance and self-dependence; to give a low opinion of one’s moral worth; to make meek and submissive to the divine will.

Only when I remember who He is and how He loves can I humbly rejoice in the truth that…

…I am not who I was, I’m being remade
I am new
Dead to my sin, I’m coming alive
I am new
Forgiven, beloved, Hidden in Christ
Made in the image of the Giver of Life
Righteous and holy, reborn and remade
Accepted and worthy, this is our new name
This is who we are now…

-Jason Gray, I am New

I am so thankful for a God who loves like that. And shows me how to love with humility, and grace. He makes my burdens light.

This entry was published on March 10, 2011 at 12:54 am and is filed under photo. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

