ivey hopes…

love note {number 5}  7:47pm 9.27.10

If weakness is a wound
That no one wants to speak of
Then “cool” is just how far we have to fall…

– I’m Not Alright   Sanctus Real

Thank You. For breaking my heart for what breaks Yours. For loving me enough to let my heart break. I’m tired of looking at just someone’s face rather than investing in who they are because I’m afraid I’m not strong enough to love them. You keep telling me, over and over and over, that You don’t see just a face in the crowd, just an ID number on a piece of paper, just a statistic in a video. You see the child, the person, the student, that You created in Your image

You made yourself so very evident. So, so, so evident. And yet, we choose not to see You. We choose to deny You the praise, the glory, the honor for the work of Your hands. You amaze me. You had creativity enough to design the complexity of the cell, much less the sheer magnificence of the human body. You gave me my own skin color, used a thousand colors to paint my eyes, a thousand more for my lips, my hair. You knew the precise mathematical formula  that would make each curl form the way you wanted it to. You knew. You knew. You knew. But that wasn’t enough, was it? To create a life-less creation. You continued to create. You choose how much laughter to add to my speech pattern, You knew I would get angry when someone hurt what I loved, You knew I would love to capture beauty, and You knew I would be enthralled with You. 

You created me. From the smallest cell to the most complex and undefinable emotion.  You created me because that’s how much You love. You went through so much creating so that You could love me. So that You could show me how You love.

So that I could show how You love.

“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.” Isaiah 6:5

I want to make You known. I want people to know that they are created by the King, the LORD Almighty. That He loved them that much. That He doesn’t see them as a number or a color, or merely a face, but as His creation. I want us as a generation to stop talking like we don’t matter. I want us to matter because You matter.

Thank you for talking to me. For revealing Yourself to me. For loving me. Help me? I want to make You known. I love you.



This entry was published on September 27, 2010 at 10:50 pm and is filed under photo. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

