ivey hopes…

i listened to my youth pastor talk to 5th and 6th graders this morning. As i was sitting there contemplating life, I realized that God was knocking on my heart. He wanted me to listen. to bring my head out of the clouds and listen to what He was saying through Joel. He wanted me to realize that He was going to speak to my heart, speak truth into my soul, just as much as He was to those 5th and 6th grade cup-cake-loving kids. So I listened, and sure enough, it was just what i needed to hear…

the end of a matter is better than its beginning, and patience is better than pride” Ecclesiastes 7:8

the end is better than the beginning. how often do I think about that? that what He gives me patience for now will result in something completely lovely, beautiful and totally worth the wait. patience is better than pride. so many times, i find myself so prideful in my approach to situations, like i would rather jump into it and think about the consequences later. pride: thinking i know better than Him. patience: trusting that the Creator of my heart has it all figured out.

“so do not throw away your confidence, it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will recieve what He has promised.” Hebrews 10:35-36

patience. patiently awaiting what He has promised. He gives me patience when I ask and am willing to receive it. patience teaches perseverance, perseverance grows endurance, and its because of endurance that we have the strength to finish the race.

through Him, by Him, and in Him will I learn patience. Hes going to move. until then, I’m patiently awaiting what He’s promised.

This entry was published on May 2, 2010 at 10:14 pm and is filed under photo. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

