ivey hopes…

I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers,
         The moon and the stars, which You have ordained…

Psalm 8:2

The moon and stars govern the night,
         His mercy endures forever.

Psalm 136:9

and my favorite…

Who is this that appears like the dawn,
       fair as the moon, bright as the sun,
       majestic as the stars in procession?

Song of Songs 6:10

He’s more majestic that the stars in all their glory; they govern the night, but my God governs my heart; His glory consumes them all…

when i look at the sky, seemingly endless, so far away i could never grasp it, one word comes to mind: captivating. He created the stars and the moon to captivate me tonight. To draw me in. But even more than a display of His majesty, He didn’t want me to forget that He’s sovereign. That His idea of creativity was to make an unbounded expanse so dark that nothing but white balls of fire could illuminate it. His plan for my life is so much more creative than anything I could dream of. Till He remains. Till my dreams and my passions and my emotions and my hopes and my fears subside. Till only He remains.

Delight yourself in the LORD
       and he will give you the desires of your heart

Psalm 17:4

This entry was published on April 29, 2010 at 1:49 am and is filed under photo. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

