ivey hopes…

…I thought if I could touch this place or feel it
This brokenness inside me might start healing
Out here it’s like I’m someone else
I thought that maybe I could find myself
If I could just come in I swear I’ll leave
Won’t take nothing but a memory
From the house that built me…

Miranda Lambert House That Built Me

That little blue house we built on the hill changed me.

For every house is built by someone, but God is the builder of everything.

Hebrews 3:4

When God builds the house that is our heart, he measures, he configures, he cuts the materials, and he perfectly places them so that the structure will be sound. His hands get worn, and His heart goes into his work. This house that He’s building, slowly and deliberately, will be beautiful someday. As the perfect Carpenter, He knows that the walls, trusses, and beams that He’s building one at a time will all come together to make a house that only He could build.

He’s building my heart. One event, one place. one friendship, one dream at a time. He nails them into place, each one contributing to the architectural wonder that will be His master piece. Hour after hour, day after day, He constructs. He pours His heart into this house. Over time, people start to see His character, recognize His architectural style.

That little blue house we built on the hill changed me.

I began to grasp that the Calmer of the seas and Creator of the stars is also the Maker of my heart. He’s making something beautiful out of what appears to be a bunch of scrap lumber. His hands are crafting something He’s proud of, something absolutely lovely.

He used that little blue house on the hill to build a piece of my heart.

This entry was published on April 25, 2010 at 1:09 am and is filed under photo. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

